• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Returning to the Aquarium Hobby

TS45

5 Year Member
Hi,
I'm interested in returning to the Aquarium Hobby after not owning one for about 14 years. When I left off I found Dwarf cichlids most interesting, Apistogramma Agassizii was one specie I had and loved!

What is the best way equipment wise to accomodate Dwarf Cichlids, I'm seeing alot of "all in one" systems. Any recomendations???

Tom

Scooter

5 Year Member
Hey Tom.

Welcome back to the hobby and welcome to the forum. Your post is sure to generate a variety of responses because of its subjective nature. While I'm no expert compared to some on this forum, I'll be glad to give you my thoughts. But let me ask you a question or two first.

Do you know for sure what type of dwarf cichlid(s) you want to keep? You mention the A. Agassizi, so are Apistos what you're primarily interested in. How many are you interested in keeping?

aspen

5 Year Member
hi tom, i have never seen a system, with all of the things i like in aqarium components, all sold in one package. ie, aquaclear filters, ebo jager heaters, and enough light to grow plants among other things. i like good quality heaters, as i hate to lose fish to a bad heater. and i like ac filters with extra sponges, so i can start another tank anytime i want.