• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Stealing Ivanacara Adoketa eggs.. hmm

Aquatopia

I have a beautiful pair of Ivanacara Adoketa in a planted 40 long. They are the same fish that adopted 20 or so Vieja Zonatus fry that I posted a video on. As soon as I took the fry away the pair Spawned and layed about 150 eggs. This is my first try with these guys and I'll tell you that I think this is the absolute coolest Dwarf that I've ever owned- (Thanks Dave) But- The first spawn didn;t work out so well- After moving the eggs several times to different hiding places I have no fry. My fish are paraniod! They see me or anybody coming near the tank and seriously swim up to me and look me in the eye then the eggs dissapear to another location (2 times) I'm wondering if anyone has success with hatching the eggs seperately from the parents and what you think the drawbacks are. They were fertile eggs last time and possibly fry but now about a week later they're digging up the tank and making new nest sites. I'm concerned that because the tank is in my store that there's just simply too much movement for them (ontop of my curiousity)

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Personally, I wouldn't try to hatch the eggs artificially but you could try. If they were my fish, I would put them in a large breeding tank with a few target fish and see what happens. Like most cichlids, practice make perfect.

Aquatopia