• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma uaupesi "red face"

skoram

Hello all. This is my first post on this forum so I'll introduce myself very quickly. My name is Sam and I'm an American expat living in Seoul, Korea. I've been keeping fish for nearly 15 years and somewhat recently became interested in Apistos starting with a few agassizii I purchased on impulse from a LFS about 3 months ago.

I quickly became fascinated by their appearance and behavior and got bit by the proverbial apisto "bug." I started doing some research and made a decision to try my hand at another, rarer species of Apisto culminating in the purchase of a pair of wild caught Apistogramma uaupesi "red face." I paid 165,000 Korean won for them which is around $150. I have no idea whether or not this would be considered a "normal" price for them in the US but I do know that this is about what other stores here charge for rarer wild caught specimens.

Given the quality and price of these beautiful fish, I want to make sure I do everything I can to ensure that they thrive - which brings me to this post. This is my current setup:

Tank size: 120L (about 30 gallons - 60x45x45 cm)
Filtration: Eheim 2213 (flow reduced with spray bar and slight closing of outflow valve)
Lights: 20W LED fixture (7 hours per day)
Pressurized CO2 with atomic diffuser 7 hours per day
Flora: several species of Echinodorus, Rotala indica, Blyxa, Staurygene repens, Anubias nana v. petite, Cryptocoryne parva, Java ferns, water lettuce and amazon frogbit

Water parameters:
pH: 7.0
NH4: 0
N02: 0
N03: 10