• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Thinking about starting with Apistogramma baenschi

Harry_Logan

I have reciently wanted to keep Apisto baenschi. Is this species relativly hardy? I am a newbie at fishkeeping and even though I take all care I am wary about doing the wrong thing by the fish plus this species is not that cheap here. I have not kept apistos before, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Is this fish fine to keep or are there other species that may be better for beginners? Thank you in advance for your advice.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
If you have experience with other (non-apistos) fish and have suitable water and a proper size tank, properly laid-out, then you should be fine. This species in not hard to keep and breed, but isn't one that is considered a 'beginner's' species. Breeding requirements include a well-bonded pair. Not all males will bond with all females. Often, if there are no choices, the 2 fish may fight continually or simply ignore each other. More often than not A. baenschi is less choosy than some of its fellow nijsseni-group members. Water should be soft and moderately acid. If you get a good pair and have the right water condition, this species can produce spawns of over 100 eggs. Most apistophiles usually recommend A. borellii, A. cacatuoides, and A. cf. alacrina (Rotpunkt) as good beginner's species.

Harry_Logan