• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

sexing my new A. borellii

tigger101023

5 Year Member
Newbie alert! I have been to lots of other cichlid forums, but this is my first time posting here.

I have some not-great pictures of my 3 new apistos. 1-1.25" if I had to guess. I asked the guy at the LFS for 1 m/2 f, but I have no clue myself if that's what I got. There's some chasing going on and they all have that rounded juvenile tail to me. I was hoping that more experienced eyes might know better. And if the pics are too bad, I'll try again.

Apisto 1

Apisto 2

Apisto 3

tigger101023

5 Year Member
I can't believe I didn't notice it before now, but I'm finally seeing that all of them have blue or bluish-green markings on their heads. they were so pale last week when I got them that I didn't see it. Is it possible to have blue on them without them being these all-male steel blues?

:mad: :mad: :mad:

PS - If they are all males and I can't take them back to the LFS, what's the minimum size tank I can keep them in together over the long-term? I doubt 3 males will last in a 12 gal for that long.

Eric C.

5 Year Member
Hey tigger, welcome to the forum. I was the one that told you over in the cichlid forum that I thought you had all males. Looking again at the pictures I still believe that to be true. As I said before I'm no expert so hopefully someone with better knowledge will chime in and give you their opinion.

tigger101023

5 Year Member