• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

fish photography techniques

cootwarm

5 Year Member
Does anyone have any special techniques or advice related to fish photography to share?

In the past I've taken quite a few wildlife photos with both macro lens and zoom lens on a 35mm. My favorites were taking macro pictures of insects and plants. I've got some excellent shots, but I'm still a novice as I've had no formal training. Recently I've used a digital. This winter I plan to take many photos of my apistogrammas, using both 35mm and digital. I currently have at least 10 different species and plan to add 4 or 5 more species before winter. I'm already finding that fish photography has quite a few unique problems & differences compared to other photography.

I just started trying it out with the digital camera. So far I've encountered dark backgrounds when it was actually well lit, colors are sometimes different than what was seen with my eye, reflections (both light and background), different colors with flash and without flash, etc. With the digital there is a delay when you press the shutter button and often the fish has moved during the delay. But the nice thing about digital, you can try and try again! These are just a few examples I've encountered already, so I'm sure there are others.

I've got a wild caught Apistogramma sp. "Blue" that is sparkley blue with just room light and the tank light off, but when the tank light is on the blue disappears and he is rather plain looking. How do I deal with this?

I'm sure many others would also benefit from such a discussion.

Thanks,
Michael

tjudy

Staff member
5 Year Member