• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Disaster!!! Please help!!!

Jayha24

So I am new to apistos and have been keeping 4 juvenile borellis and a pair of cacatoides. My end goal was to breed both types as its always been something I've wanted to do, but have never had the time or budget to devote to it. Until this last week everything has been going great. However over the past 4 days my cac. female mysteriously died, and now one of my borelli females is becoming lethargic, and isn't interested in eating this evening.
The cac female had been completely healthy. She was eating good, got along mostly with the other fish, and generally looked to have plenty of energy. However over the span of two days she quite suddenly started hiding, and on the night before she died she was breathing very rapidly. When I fished her out of the tank I saw that there was absolutely no outward sign of distress at all on her body.
Just to be sure I've been monitoring my water chemistry. This entire time it's had a constant ph of 6.5, and 0ppm of ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. I use RO water in my weekly water changes so the hardest is next to nothing.
My borelli female is in great health too, but tonight she wasn't interested in food, she seems lethargic, and I notice a very small white spec on her nose.