• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Conductivity

jafo

5 Year Member
I have read much about water hardness (Gh,Kh, DH, buffering, etc.) and no longer use any chemicals to alter anything. My tap water is very hard and has a Ph of 8.2+. I have gotten an r/o unit and a conductivity meter as I want to get more into breeding and not just keeping Apistos. I have been doing water changes with the r/o water for a couple months now and have soft and to very soft water depending upon the tank. From what I've been reading here many of you say that conductivity is what you check but not what numbers you look for. I have already had A. nijsenni, A. cacatuoides, and my Angelfish spawn a couple times over the last month or so ago but didn't have my meter then. None of my current Apistos are wild and I know that does make a difference. My r/o water is around 75uS and a pH of abt 7. Right now conductivity in my tanks are mid 90s. My current Apistos are: agassizii, cacatuoides, nijsseni, trifasciata, viejita. I'm looking for a range to shoot for.

tjudy

Staff member
5 Year Member
Is the RO water out of your machine 75mS, or is that the conductivity in the tanks you have been adding RO water to?

75 mS is pretty good for most apistos. Some do not need it that low. If that is the conductivity of the RO water itself, then the RO unit may not be doing as good a job as it should.

tjudy

Staff member
5 Year Member
In any case a conductivity of less than 200 uS (approximately 100 ppm) is fine for most soft water apistos. Only the really tough nuts to crack, like A. diplo, would need it softer. For what you are working with the that level is fine.