• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Chromidotilapia Guntheri Guntheri Spawn

dfea

5 Year Member
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to both this forum and Dwarfs (any Cichlid for that matter) so I have many questions. I have been reading the threads for the answers but this one is time critical for me.

A little background, I inherited a pair of tanks (one 65 gal community and one 75 gal Discus) from a buddy who had to give them up for health reasons. I'll save the long story but want to share the short as it amazed me. I brought the occupants of the community tank home in a large storage bin with approx 20 gallons of their tank water. This trip was an hour long so I used a heater running from a DC/AC inverter and a sponge filter/air pump. Once home I used a drip line for acclimation to my tank over a 8 hour period and then put them into their new home.
This was on a Sunday and when I stopped home for lunch on Friday I found a pair of the Guntheri Spawning right on the tank glass. I was both amazed and delighted.

So my question is; we are on day 13 and the male has yet to release the fry. Based on an older thread I found on the forum; Xanathos had a similar question mentioning 12 days while Randall stated 10-16 days. Xanathos then followed up with that his finally released but didn't mention on what day. My tank is filthy (at least as I am concerned) but I don't want to stress the parents so how long do I wait before considering the spawn a failure? Don't worry I have not missed water changes. And as I am so new to this I have not acquired a copy of Dr. Lamboj's book yet, but planning to.

Thanks for any help - Dan

tjudy

Staff member