• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

borellii questions

mf3011

5 Year Member
Hello all, I've been a long time visitor and just recently decided to join and have never been disapointed with what I have seen. I was wondering if someone could lend me their expertise regarding my borellii apisto. Unfortunately I have a mediocre camera and I am a less than mediocre photographer, so at this point I do not have any pictures that would be of any help. If I do get lucky however, I will try to post one later.

My question is, if I there is a way to tell male from female by markings or if there's something distinct that I can look for to differentiate. I know females are usually more yellow and have less distinct fins, but I think mine is right at that stage between juvenile and adult and I cannot tell. He/she has a thin horizontal line running all the way down, with black vertical marks above showing depending on the mood. He/she also has a few discreet blue markings on the face and the first ray of the dorsal fin is black, while the rest of the fin is not enhanced enough to clearly show it is a male. I know this isn't really all that great without pictures, but I'm just wondering if there's something I can look for, because later this week I am hoping to bring home some buddies that could eventually form a pair/harem. Any help is much appreciated, sorry for the length of the post! Thank you!

Mike

mf3011

5 Year Member
Also...

Forgot to mention, the fish is probably just over an inch long give or take. Thanks, if any other info is needed just let me know, still trying to get pics :mad:

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member