• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Best Apisto tank mates for 20g high

dominic0087

I have a pair of Macmasteri and planning on getting tank mates mainly for a better looking tank. My options currently at my LFS are Cardinal, Black Neon and Glowlight Tetras.

I'm getting 6-8 for a decent school. Which would be best for a pair of Macmasteri? I've heard Black Neons will predate on fry less, but I think all of these will eat fry. I may not breed them anyway since I just want a balanced aquarium that would be less maintenance and pleasing with the eyes.

MacZ

As A. macmasteri are among the larger species, I would only keep a single male in that tanksize. Unless you have a second tank to separate the Apistos at any time you risk one of them succumbing to stress. A. macmasteri are also part of the majority of Apistogramma that are non-monogamous. Unless the female is receptive, the male will try to get her out of his territory. Sadly a fish tank has limitations. And once brooding, the female will likely turn the tables and all the other fish in the tank will be chased into a corner.

Considering this your goal
I just want a balanced aquarium that would be less maintenance and pleasing with the eyes.
I would really recommend a single dwarf cichlid and a 8-10 piece group of one characin species and be done with stocking.

And yes, all the tetras eat fry.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member