• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma agazizii - how many to breed?

JG

5 Year Member
Hi all,

As I'm fairly new to dwarfs, though I've kept German and Bolivian's before; I was wondering what combination of male to female ratio should be kept to breed Apistogramma agazizii?

I was thinking 2 males to 4 females. A group of us are putting together a bulk order of various fishes and I'd love to pick up some agazizii. Let me know what you think of the 2m:4f ratio. My order deadline is tomorrow night by 11PM EST.

Thanks for your input.

JazzyB 8)

Tea

5 Year Member
how many to breed??

Hello there, if you are trying to breed Aggies , you are better to just keep one pair in a tank because the females are very aggressive when they are gaurding eggs usually chasing even the male away and not letting him near the eggs. I have two females in to seperate 15 gallon tanks that i put some java moss and a couple of plants in with a little clay pot. When the females are ready to spawn I put the male in and after they have spawn i take him out. This has worked out pretty good for me, I have had 5 spawns where all the fry have survived. Good luck..

Apistt_ed

agreed