• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Which tefé?

LindaMC

5 Year Member
That's a beautiful fish, is that the true color in the photo? Looks a bit like a Rio but hard to tell, I haven't been keeping apistos all that long. I have a pair of agassizi red tails and will be getting a pair of cacatuoides orange flash's in a few weeks, they're still very small right now.

Hopefully someone will be a long to identify this fish soon, I'd also like to know.

Apisto ranch

5 Year Member
I'd have to gree with blue bell it looks more like the A. sp. tefe to me as well. Again like linda I'm not a pro at IDing thou I'm getting better. LOL

Joost S

5 Year Member
Yes, these are the true colors of the fish. Thank you for your opinions.

a%20tefe%20m1.jpg

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Do you know where this fish comes from? It looks like the "Net/Netz" form of A. agassizii to me. This form occurs in northern tributaries of the Amazon, east of the Rio Negro. A. cf. agassizii ("Netz" Alenquer) is the form most commonly seen in the hobby.

apistodave

Staff member
5 Year Member