• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What do you guys do with all your Apistos?

douginsf

5 Year Member
Hey everyone,

First off I just wanted to introduce myself since I just discovered this forum a few days ago. Anyway, I'm Doug from San Francisco, CA and I've been keeping fish for about 10 years now. A few years into it I became obsessed with learning how to establish and keep a flourishing plant tank. After years of reading everything I could find on the subject along with plenty of trial and error I've finally got it down.

I've also bred many types of fish including A. macmasteri, bettas, croaking gourami's, paradise fish, Tanganikan shell dwellers, Badis badis, peacock gudgeons and most recently A. borelli.

I'm also a member of the SFAS (San Francisco Aquarium Society) which is a group of aquarium hobbiests who hold meetings on the first Friday of every month. We have a speaker come and give a talk on some sort of fish related subject and then we have an auction where members can auction off their fish, plants and dry goods.

About four or five months ago I bred Apistogramma borelli and succesfully raised about 100-125 fry with only a few fatalities. I've been selling them each month at our society's auctions and I've placed ads online (Craigslist) and had some individuals come to my house and buy some. The fish store I go to (Ocean Aquarium), and have a great relationship with the owner, didn't want to buy them or even trade them for store credit because they already had two tanks of them and weren't selling many. I went to another store and the owner said he didn't have much call for Apistos anymore, period.