• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Water Mystery

georgedv

5 Year Member
I am not very good in chemistry....I even misspelled the word...lucky me we have auto correct. I have been collecting rain water to use with my dwarf tanks for about 6-8 months now.

I use a liquid test kit by API. Rain water readings are: pH reads around 6.4, KH less then 50 ppm, but the gH reads over 250ppm.

Tap water readings are pH 7.0-7.2 KH around 80ppm and HG over 240ppm.

As a test I used Seachems acid buffer and lowered all the readings except the GH that keeps showing above 240ppm.

I have two API kits, they are 4-5 years old. I used both kits to test the same water and got the same readings from all the API kits for all tests. But still I wonder if the GH test bottles are bad.

Like I said I am not good in water chemistry and how things work. I grasp soft & hard water and acid and alkaline water. My understanding is soft goes with acid water and hard goes with alkaline water. Obviously it is not always the case...why?
If anyone has the time and patience to give me a simple brief lesson I would appreciate it and what I can do to lower gh. Right now I use peat moss, but it only affects pH and kH.

Thanks

george

regani

5 Year Member
I'll try to give a simplified explanation. Bear with me if this gets a bit long....

The GH is a value for the concentration of calcium (Ca2+)in the water - there also are some other ions that contribute to GH, mainly magnesium, but for sake of simplicity we'll leave that aside.