• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Remineralizer For Distilled/RO Water

Noxs

Hello Everyone.... I'm a beginner in Apistogramma I wanted to set up a tank for Apistogramma Macmasteri pair for future breeding.....bt the tds of my tap water is around 300ppm and the ph stays between 7.6-8.0....i have good source of distilled water in my area...bt the tds of the water is too low around 6ppm-8ppm....so i wanted to know what would be a good remineralizer to increase the gh and kh in my water.... I was thinking about Brightwell Aquatics Remineralize bt I don't know if it will also increase the kh or is it the same as Seachem Equilibrium.

Samala

Curious to hear if others take this route. I've just blended my tap with RO/DI water (or rain water depending on time of year) to get to my target TDS.

Are you taking the powdered product approach because your tap has other undesirable components in it? (High nitrates, phosphates, etcetera?)

MacZ

Curious to hear if others take this route. I've just blended my tap with RO/DI water (or rain water depending on time of year) to get to my target TDS.

Same. I'm right now at 9 parts RO (not DI) and 1 part tap.

Noxs

Are you taking the powdered product approach because your tap has other undesirable components in it? (High nitrates, phosphates, etcetera?)
Yes....the water that comes out of my tap is well water....i should have made that clear in the original thread bt i forgot.... I don't trust my well water bcuz there are some industrial companies in my area....and I'm a little bit afraid to use my current well water

Noxs

Same. I'm right now at 9 parts RO (not DI) and 1 part tap.