• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie help

PaulaG

Hello, I am quite new to fish keeping, but I am already addicted. I've just bought a new bigger tank, it's 260L, and I am looking around at stocking idea's. I really love the look of some Dwarf Cichlids, in particular the Panda(Apistogramma nijsseni) and the Cockatoo(Apistogramma cacatuoides).

I'm wondering if I could keep a pair of each of these species in my new tank once it's established?

Thanks

PaulaG

Fully planted, with some open spaces at the front, with bogwood running along the middle from left to right. The bogwood is positioned to have hiding places. The plants are just fresh cut stem plants, so they will give more cover when they fill out more.
FishAv.jpg~original

PaulaG

Potential tank mates would be Corys, a small pleco, black phantom tetra's and bleeding heart tetra's, and Angelfish.

If a pair of each wouldnt work, would a group of 3/4 of one species be okay, 1M/3F?

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Question: do you want a breeding tank or a community tank? It's almost impossible to have both. Read up on the fish that you want to keep. Most are schooling fish (corys, tetra, and even angelfish at times). 6-7 of each is best.

PaulaG

I have read up on the other fish, and I do have some of the Tetra's and Corys already in my smaller tank, so I know about group sizes as far as they go. And I do realise that because I want to keep Apisto's in with these fish it cannot be a breeding tank, and I'm fine with that at this time. Depending on my growing addiction that may change, and I may eventually focus more on Apisto's :)