• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

More Books

georgedv

5 Year Member
I lost the other thread about suggested books. I got the three books that Mike recommended on S. American Dwarfs. Mike, these are truly unique. I spent this whole week going thru them. I still have alot more to do.

My next question to everybody is, what is/are the best book(s) out there on West African dwarfs? At this point being new to this group of fish, I will also ask what other books do you all suggest regarding dwarf cichlides regardless of where they are from.

I am not a novice to the hobby, but I am to cichlides. I am looking forward to any suggestion on this as my interest on this hobby gets control of my mind and wallet and start buying dwarfs cichs without any knowledge!!!

thanks

g

aquaticclarity

Staff member
5 Year Member
georgedv,

By far and away the best West African cichlid book out is The Cichlid Fishes of Western Africa by Anton Lamboj published by Birget, Schmettkamp, and Verlag 2004. It is THE bible of West African Cichlids and a must have.

That said, another book I highly recommend is African Cichlids 1 Cichlids From West Africa by Linke and Staeck, Tetra Press 1994. I would guess that it is out of print, but if you can find a copy it's worth having. It doesn't cover anywhere near the number of fish that Lamboj does, but the photos will make you drool! The names have also changes a little (ie. some Chromidotilapia are now Benitochromis, etc.) and many of the undiscribed fish in the book are now named, but over all it's still a worth while text.

Jeff

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member