• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Ideas for a beginner

Boserup

Santa brought a nice entry-level R.O. system for Christmas. With that I dare give apistos another try - after my initial failure. I'm thinking for R.O. in the winter and rainwater the rest of the year. I'll re-setup the tanks in an apistofriendly style during the holidays. Sand, lot's of wood and leaflitter + plants. But keep in mind, I'm still a beginner in this game.

Species-wise I'm looking for one(1!) species. I'm interested in keeping apistos that can display their natural behaviour in the tank(s). One male is not what I'm into. "Production" of a lot of fry neither. Breeding behaviour is definitely something I'd be interested in - but not raising hundreds of fry. Pair forming or harem-style behavior could both be interesting I think.

Tank wise I have two tanks: A 70 Gallon display tank currently with tetras and Corys (footpriont: 100cm*50cm). And a 30 Gallon (80cm*35cm) that could work as a breeder or species tank. Gonna pick up a 15 Gallon for quarentine, when I find a cheap one locally.

There are lots of apistos to choose from at local fish stores at the moment (and I'm sure I can find others at local breeders). But what species would be ideal for me?
  • Beginner
  • R.O./rainwater (preferably mixed with tap water at least in the big tank)
  • Interested in natural intra-species behaviour

Some of the locally available species:
Apistogramma kullanderi f1
Apistogramma panduro F1
Apistogramma sp rio Tefe F1
apistogramma trifasciata
Apistogramma cf. ortegai ex. sp. “Pebas” F1
Apistogramma sp. “Alto-Tapiche” F1
Apistogramma sp borellii Opal