• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Can I keep Diamond Tetra (Moenkhausia pittieri) with Apistogramma borellii?

Asleepen

Hi, I'm just getting into the hobby and I've been interested in getting some Apistogramma borellii, especially since they're considered more accessible for beginners. I've been using this forum a lot for information and it seems to be more reliable than a lot of the information I see elsewhere.

Would Moenkhausia pittieri work well with borellii?

My tank is 125L, approx 80 x 35 x 50 cm. (L x W x H). The tank will also be heavily planted with a lot of riverwood, some inert rocks, and a sand substrate.

Ideally I'd keep a M+F pair of borellii, using the tetras as a dither. I don't mind if the tetras act as population control for any fry that may occur because I live in a rather remote area and would struggle to rehome them. Unless that dynamic would cause significant issues for the fish.

I'm 100% open to other suggestions for fish and any knowledge anyone would be willing to share, thanks! :)

MacZ

Technically yes, just some things to consider:
- M. pittieri require constant higher temperatures. So that would mean keeping them at the constant low end of their range and A. borellii at their higher end, but this is possible in the range of 23-24°C.