• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma Help

niiko101

Hi everyone, Just joined this forum.

I am new to fish keeping. I want an Apistogramma. I have done a lot of research on them. I know there is always more to learn so i am here to ask a few questions from experienced keepers.

What are the best tank mates to keep with an Apistogramma Agassizii or Cacatuoides?

All my research has told me that. Pencilfish and Rasboras are good to keep. What else might there be that is proven to be 100%. I know this questions it a little bit straight with not as much info as possible so ill add some. I do hopefully want a breeding pair. So i would like something that wont eat the eggs or fry. I have heard that cory cats go well, but if the apistos breed then its game over for the eggs and fry. And can even end in cory cats loosing eyes.
Input on bottom feeders that can co-exist with apistos would be very much appreciated.

Another questions is. I have a 43gallon. Just upgrade the pump to a Eheim 2217 canister. and i am not sure if the water flow is too high for these fish. I dont know how to judge what is gentle and what is not. So i will upload a video and hopefully someone can share some info in how to accurately judge water moment.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member