• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto sp?

S

sum1special

Hi! I'm new to apistos and was having some trouble with the ID of my new pair... They were labeled as Apisto. agassizii (sp?) at the LFS, but I doubt that is what they are. I bought three, 1 male, 1 female, and 1 unknown...
Here are some pics of the male:

DSCF2791.jpg

DSCF2788.jpg

DSCF2794.jpg

and the Female:

DSCF2805.jpg

Sorry I can't take much better pics and please excuse the dirty glass.

blueblue

5 Year Member
It is definitely NOT agassizii, it looks like apistogramma sp "red-dot" to me.... are there any better photos? ^.^

KenL

5 Year Member
Yes, I agree that they are (could be?) Apisto sp. rotpunkt

Imagine labelling those as agassizii:rolleyes:

S

sum1special

:) Thanks, I'll look those up... Meanwhile I'll clean my glass and see if I can get some better pics. I'm getting the impression that agassizii is just the name they give any apistos at the LFS around here.

blueblue

5 Year Member
sum1special said:
:) Thanks, I'll look those up... Meanwhile I'll clean my glass and see if I can get some better pics. I'm getting the impression that agassizii is just the name they give any apistos at the LFS around here.
yes, i understand that some local vendors always use agassizii to call any apistos!! It is a bit strange while probably because agassizii is such a popular fish that could increase sales of the fish...

S

sum1special

Ok, I've cleaned my glass and have some new pics ready...
Mike Wise: You're right about the blue tint, I had the flash on when I took those pictures. The male doesn't actually have that irridescence.

Here's a new picture: