• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto Borelli Fry Food

archangelvk

I saw my female Apisto Borelli swimming around with around 20 fry today. The tank is a 23G with 3 Amano shrimp and around 10 red cherry shrimp. Other then that, its just her and her fry. This is my first time dealing with fry and I know on the internet it says to feed Apisto Fry Newly hatched BBS, but if I dont have access to those, is there anything else I can feed them? Im currently giving them micro worms with some crushed flaked food thats almost powered like. Im also hoping that the java moss in the tank will provide some microscopic critters they will eat? Is this enough or are they doomed?

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
I saw my female Apisto Borelli swimming around with around 20 fry today. The tank is a 23G with 3 Amano shrimp and around 10 red cherry shrimp. Other then that, its just her and her fry. This is my first time dealing with fry and I know on the internet it says to feed Apisto Fry Newly hatched BBS, but if I dont have access to those, is there anything else I can feed them? Im currently giving them micro worms with some crushed flaked food thats almost powered like. Im also hoping that the java moss in the tank will provide some microscopic critters they will eat? Is this enough or are they doomed?
I've raised fry in a weedy tank without using BBS and only additionally feeding micro-worms.

Java moss is really useful because it snags the microwroms and makes them available to the fry. I'm a <"great moss fan">. You could try squeezing out a filter sponge, you usually get plenty of rotifers etc from these