• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What's up with his mouth?

Luke3141

I am fairly new to apistos. I have had them for less than a year. I noticed today that my male seems to have black spots at the edges of his mouth. At first I thought it was just coloration that I had failed to notice, but on looking closer it looks like sand. I also looked back at old pictures and it was not there.

My questions are:

1. Is it sand/ is it something to be concerned about?
2. Is there something I should do about it?

What he looked like before:
IMG_0682.jpg

What he looks like now:
IMG_1134.jpg
IMG_1144.jpg

Thanks in advance. Y'all are the best!

MacZ

Impossible to tell from the pictures, sorry.

As long as the fish eats and doesn't show any signs of problems just keep observing.

Yvonne G

Administrator
5 Year Member
I see what you're talking about, but sorry to say, I don't know what it is. Does it seem to bother him? Does he dash at the substrate trying to rub it off?

Luke3141

I see what you're talking about, but sorry to say, I don't know what it is. Does it seem to bother him? Does he dash at the substrate trying to rub it off?
It doesn't seem to bother him so I haven't done anything. Plus I don't know what I would do anyways. But I thought I would check and see if anyone had ideas.

Luke3141