• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

What's wrong with this Apisto?

mudboots

Hey all,

I posted this on a thread at aquaticplantcentral.com in the Fish For Planted Aquariums forum and was referred here. To keep from re-typing the original post and the subsequent replies I am providing a link to the post:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/fish-planted-aquarium/68950-what-s-wrong-apisto.html

I'll mention that this fish died this afternoon, but I'd still like to have a good idea of what went wrong for the future. This is my first time visiting this site, so any direction to previous threads would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Darren

mudboots

Thanks for the quick reply. These are wild-caught Apisto's, so I have been weary about their health. I really do not want to have to medicate the tank, but I'll be watching the others very carefully.

bigbird

5 Year Member
hi, it does also look bacterial to me. Intestinal worms would be my guess with the bloating and scale. Be wary of bloodworm feeding to some apistos as they cannot digest them too quick. Did you quarantine your new arrivals before placing them in the new tank ? Are your other fish fine as well now ?

Cheers jk :cool:

mudboots

hi, it does also look bacterial to me. Intestinal worms would be my guess with the bloating and scale. Be wary of bloodworm feeding to some apistos as they cannot digest them too quick. Did you quarantine your new arrivals before placing them in the new tank ? Are your other fish fine as well now ?