• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New pair of Agassizi - behaviour info needed

Minders

5 Year Member
Just looking for a bit of info. Have kept various Apistos over the years, with varying success so am not a complete beginner, but have never had any success with breeding, etc.

In my main tank (4ft, planted) I had a pair of Agassizi, but the male died last year. The female has been fine and is plump and active. After watching out for a mate for her for some time, I finally found a male which I brought home a couple weeks ago.

A few days prior to finding this male, I'd put a coconut (with one of the milk holes punched out for an entrance) in the front of the tank where I could see it, but attached some moss to it so it was a little covered (and will become moreso when the moss establishes itself). There are logs and plants immediately behind it so it's not right out in the open. The female took possession of this coconut within an hour of it going in the tank and defends it vigilantly.