• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Need help with disease ID and treatment

Kevin F Smith

Hi, I have several apistos that do the following: spit out food, act as if they are "coughing" or spitting something out, even when not feeding, and some have white feces. They gradually go down hill, then die. I've removed the sick fish, only to have the disease appear in others in the tank. My angelfish are affected also.
Can anyone help ID this? I would appreciate any help. Thanks!

ErtyJr

I'm no expert with disease, and I doubt I could diagnose properly, but do your fish breathe rapidly and have inflamed gills?

Also are you sure it's a disease? What is your water quality and parameters. Most disease is prevented simply by having quality water I have stopped the spread of ich in my tank simply by feeding my fish lots of live food before, with no other changes. How is their diet?

Also noticed you are in PA as I am. Where about in pa are you, I'm near philly. I could possibly provide you a bit of quality food for them.

Last edited:

Kevin F Smith

Thank you. The water quality is fine: ammonia: 0, nitrite:0. PH: 5.5. Water: soft. water changes: 20% per week. densely planted. 55 gal tank. Other fish in tank: glolight tetras, angelfish. I'm a stingy feeder. Food seldom gets to the bottom of the tank. I clean 1/3 of the gravel with the [python when doing biweekly water changes. Temp: 82.
Whatever it is it appears to remain in the tank. Removing sick fish to quarantine does nothing. It seems to just transfer to someone else. Domino effect.