• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

need help! A. agassizii babies.

jv_xbishop

5 Year Member
i need help. my apistogramma agassizii eggs should be hatching in a couple of days and i dont really know how to take care of them. i have no experience in breeding in any kind of fish. so i tried breeding A. agassizii and actually got them to mate! my tank set up is a 10 gallon tank with some brown gravel, java moss, 1 driftwood, anibias plant, oak leaves (took out already), 1 pot caves, regular 10 gallon filter, and a power head but now in use. water conditions are: pH = 6.0-6.2, hardness = 5-10, temp = 84 F. the female was fighting the male after they got done mating, after a while the female lost the fight then male kept chasing her around so i took out the male. the only fishs in the tank right now is the female and the eggs. here are some questions i need help with:

1. what do i feed the babies?
2. i can just leave the female with the babies till their full grown, right? do i seperat them or is there a certain time to seperate them?
3. do i need to switch the filter out for a sponge filter? should i do it now?
4. how ofter should i change the water after adding the sponge filter?
5. should i just keep the water conditions same as it is now or is there better conditions that i should change to?

please give me anyother advise i need to know. thankyou!

male A. agassizii
134resized.jpg

breeding tank
10gallon.jpg
[/IMG]

aquaticclarity

Staff member
5 Year Member
Here are a few of the questions answered in down and dirty form: