• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Keeping Bolivian Rams with A. Baenschi

warbyd

5 Year Member
Hello all, this is my first time posting here so please be gentle ;)

I picked up a pair of A. Baenschi on the weekend, very small young fish which have yet to colour up fully but look like they have great potential and seem quite comfortable with one another so *fingers crossed*. This is my first time keeping apisto's but I am fascinated by the little buggers and would like to put them into their own tank.

The tank I have intended for them is a standard 2 foot tank with plenty of java moss, a few coconut caves, possibly a broken ceramic pot or two and a leaf covering over a sand substrate. So hopefuly, lots of cover and lots of hiding places for them.. The thing is, this tank was intended for a breeding pair of bolivian rams so would the two co-exist peacefully given the amount of cover they have, or would I be better off leaving my rams in the community tank until "she who shall not be named" approves another tank? :p

Also, if anyone has any suggestions for appropriate plants to go with the java moss to assist in providing cover & hiding places that would be much appreciated.. I'm after anything (available in Australia) that grows dense, or can be planted dense, under low-light conditions as this tank (at this stage) will be lit only by sunlight coming in through a nearby window..