• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello from a sunny Kent! (UK)

Duncan Dumbreck

Hi All

Just joined the forum. Been keeping fish of various sorts since I was 8, and when I went away to University I broke my tank down. A year ago after graduating I decided to get it started up again. Got some A. viejita which have been spawning regularly, and some rams which look like they are going to any day now. In the process of setting up some fry tanks at the moment. Been hovering around the forum for about 5 months on and off, reading up on stuff, so thought it was about time I joined up.
index.php

I'm also a keen photographer, so with any luck/time I'll hopefully post some pics of anything cool that happens, for the moment here is one I made earlier.

I'm also a keen windsurfer/sailer.

Josh

Administrator
Staff member
5 Year Member
Welcome to the forum! That's a great photo - I can't wait to see more of your shots!

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Got some A. viejita
Nice fish, you probably all ready know this, but the fish sold commercially in the UK as A. viejita is a red form of A. macmasteri.

cheers Darrel

Duncan Dumbreck

Did not know that, and now that you say that, looking through pictures, i can see it, how/why do people sell it wrongly?

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
Did not know that, and now that you say that, looking through pictures, i can see it, how/why do people sell it wrongly?
I don't know really, it has become a "trade name" for the colourful red forms of A. macmasteri, although it is a valid name belonging to a different fish.