• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Female (?) Macmasteri hiding and clamped tail fin

pjg250

Hi all,

I have a female Macmasteri that has just recently started hiding and has a clamped tail fin while not eating. She still eats well, but she's been hiding almost constantly. Sometimes she just hangs out between one of the HOB filters and the aquarium glass close to the top of the tank. I thought I caught her flashing once, but I haven't seen any white spots on her or any of the other fish.

She has never bred with the male Macmasteri, but I've never seen them fight either. I assume she's female because the male is much bigger than her, but I guess it could be a subdominant male. It's hard to tell because they're the domestic strain "Gold", and the coloration looks very similar between them.

Tank specs are as follows:
  • 40 breeder
  • Temp: 80 degrees F
  • 2 Macmasteri
  • 9 Nannostomus marginatus
  • 6 otocinclus
Tank has been cycled and stocked for about 4 months now with no issues besides algae.

They are fed live banana worms from my own culture as well as live baby brine shrimp.

Water parameters are attached as images.

Any idea what could be going on? I'm hesitant to medicate without knowing what's going on. She's obviously stressed, but I'm not sure why.

Attachments

• Ammonia.jpg
    Ammonia.jpg
    805.1 KB · Views: 103
  • Nitrate.jpg
    Nitrate.jpg
    632.8 KB · Views: 92
  • Nitrite.jpg
    Nitrite.jpg
    719.2 KB · Views: 94
  • PH.jpg
    PH.jpg
    652.3 KB · Views: 82

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member