• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Breeding aggression and what to do?

Victreal

So I'm pretty new to apistogrammas and I managed to get my hand of a male and a female agassizzi. The male is pretty interested in mating albeit the female isn't as keen. I'm pretty sure they are of mating age and size. The male keeps fanning its tail against the female and but when the female turns away it gets chased viciously. I guess its because it wants to make space for a female that is more keen in mating. So where should I go from here, its hard to get let a lone find apistos where I am... so how would i go about breeding them?
Will they eventually cosy up or do I have to separate them for a period and reintroduce?

Thanks for any help I can get

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
You're right when you wrote, "I guess its because it wants to make space for a female that is more keen in mating". Ideally adding extra females is the best option - if the tank is large enough and properly decorated. Otherwise you might want to separate the 2 and 'fatten up' the female in the breeding tank and then re-introduce the male. If the male isn't actually damaging the female or causing her stress, then just be patient. Also make sure the water, tank, etc. have optimum conditions for breeding.

Victreal

Mmm my tank is a 20g but even if I got a bigger tank apistogrammas are so rare in my area I went crazy when I found this pair.