• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Bad Mood

RiC

5 Year Member
Hello all,

A little update about my pair of agassizii and my concern; I'm new to apistos so I'm a bit worried about the current situation.

I got them as juveniles six weeks ago and about 10 days ago the female turned yellow/gold and began to display in front of the male, who stopped chasing her away (he never was very violent with her, much more like a kind of "push away" attitude). Then she went into a cave and spent almost one week in there, coming out to see the male from time to time and eating a little bit (still gold/yellow). I could see nothing insinde the cave as the entrance is hidden by a bunch of java moss.

On Sunday, she came out of the cave with no fry; I was told that since that's her first time she probably ate the eggs or fry. However, since Sunday the male has been pretty nasty with her (her color is back to normal), to such an extent that she hides all the time. Granted, she's got plenty of hiding places but it's very difficult for me to see her and to feed her, so I'm concerned about that "miserable life" of hers. I know that with fish you never know because it always varies from one fish to the other, but should I try to let things settle down a little bit (it's been only three days) or should I remove the male for a while?

They are in a low 20g with a little school of hatchetfish.
Thanks for any input!

RiC

5 Year Member
Another update, sorry about the double post. This morning she is back to gold/yellow and I just saw her "attack" the male - I really don't understand what's going on :confused: ...

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member