• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto Papagei

Chris S

5 Year Member
Hey guys,

Thought I would introduce myself here. I've been lurking on the forums, scooping up advice as needed as I am quite new at keeping apisto's.

Right now the only apisto's I have are a pair of algodon's, or Papagei, that I keep in a planted 20g. I also have two pairs of Mikrogeophagus ramirezi that I keep in a 40g planted community tank (cardinals, oto's, red cherries).

Interesting for me was watching my apisto's court, and spawn. As both were quite young when I purchased them, I assume that this was their first spawn. I ended up with about 40 fry, which the female looked after diligently for about two weeks. The male did not seem to have any part in looking after them, which suprised me (as my rams are both quite involved in looking after the fry). I'm not entirely sure if this abnormal or not though. I did not feed the fry for the first week and they seemed to do quite well despite this (heavily planted, I think they were feeding off microorganisms from the large amounts of moss and pygmy chain sword).

In any case, I noticed that the male began courting the female again and soon after she was unable to herd the fry around and keep track of them. By the time I really noticed this, the amount of fry dropped to around 15 or so.