• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto. cacatuoides unexpected fry. Help!

Johntheskier

I am new to apistos but not fish keeping. I got 6 cacatuoides juveniles about a month ago. I wasn't exactly sure the male to female ratio and put them in a 10 gallon tank. As it turns out, it is 3 male and 3 female. I noticed today that one of the females laid eggs that had hatched. I didn't expect that they would breed so quickly! So there are about 20 fry in a pretty heavily wooded tank with the six "mature" adults. I know that this tank is too small for this situation. I would love to preserve the fry, so I'm wondering who has to go. All of the males? The two males that are clearly not the father? What about the nonmaternal females? I have another tank that is planted and has neon's, black skirt, and x-ray tetras, 3 dwarf cory's as well as a large ghost shrimp colony. Would the nonpaternal male apistos be ok in there with out any female apistos? I really like my tetras and have a great balance of fish and don't want to upset it. I plan on getting another tank set up soon but can't do it immediately. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

MacZ

Definitely remove all adults besides the mother (and the possible father) from the tank and rather rehome them. But with all the catching commotion I would expect the mother to eventually eat their fry due to stress.