• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

apisto cacatuodies fry

planta

Hi all, it's my first time raising apisto fry and I'm wondering how to take care of them. I have a triple red cacatuodies pair and this is also the first time they've spawned - only two fry were left out of the batch and so I decided to take them out and raise them myself. I have them in a one liter container heated to around 78.5 degrees F. They are a little bit smaller than 0.5cm and are maybe around a week old. They are currently free-swimming and I am feeding freshly hatched BBS around three times a day with daily water changes.

My question is that I don't know how much to feed and I don't know if they are actually eating the BBS. I am cycling a five gallon tank for the two of them and am wondering how big they should be before I move them over. Thank you so much in advance!

Attachments

• 5A0F5BA5-B57E-44DD-8ABE-41C4F2A3DC83_1_201_a.jpeg
    8 MB · Views: 133

IndianaSam

5 Year Member
You can tell if they’re eating BBS because their little stomachs will look orange.

BBS will live for a little while in fresh water. I’m talking an hour or two. If there are still BBS swimming in the container after an hour then you might be over feeding them.

In my opinion, they should be older before moving them to a 5 gallon tank. It’ll be hard to feed them otherwise.

anewbie