• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

200g planted aquarium

A

Angel1

Hi. I am new to keeping freshwater, I have kept Saltwater for years. I just recently purchased a 200g tank that was used for saltwater but has now been srubbed and ready for fresh. I also has a 30 gallon sump, nothing fancy, just the water going in and out, bio balls, and heaters, thats it. That lighting on the tank is something else. There are 3 250w mh and 2 6500 tubes. As I said it was used for Salt.

Now, the questions. I hope you don't mind, I have a few.

1) What type of filtration do you recommend for a planted tank this size, with lots of "homes" for dwarf cichlids such as the Apistogramma Borellli and Ramirez/Ram species? Of course there will be other dither fish in there, such as Rummy nose (recommened from another post and I believe is a good choice), maybe hatchet fish, maybe some corys.

2) Would I need to use Peat?

3) What type of substrate (gravel or sand) would the plants grow the best in?

4) Would using RO/DI water help the plants grow better? In the area we live in the water is hard so I will need to so something to bring the water down to the softness recommend for the dwarfs.

5) Is there a type of plant that I should start with as a newbie to freshwater plants that will grow with ease and that the dwarfs will better, such as bushy vs non? (silly question, sorry)

Again, sorry for all of the questions, but I want to make sure I do everything as right as I can before I do any purchases. I do not have the tank water running or anything yet. I wanted to make sure I had all the hardware purchased first that I might need. Thanks

tjudy