• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

1 tank nearly destroyed :(

rama

5 Year Member
hello,

i write here to find some help for a big problem (unfortunatly irreversible).
i had setupped 9 months ago a big tank for drarf chiclid. I would like to tell that i am a completly beginner with this kind of fish, but not to acquariofily, i mainly keep killi.

Anyway, i setup this tank with 3 Apistogramma species (vejeta, cacatuoides, agassizi) and all go correctly for all this 9 months. Giving live food (white worms, i use for killi, daphnia and artemia), somethimes fome flakes (when colture are unaviable, or just to change the diet). Change water, control ph, no2, no3, gh, kh. all work smoothly. Also cacatuoides have spawn (and i give the little fish to some friends, they still have them).

Today, all the fish are dead :(
I am very very sad for this, but anyway, there is nothing that i can do. I need to understand why!

I haven't do enything of particular, always the same things, change water 5 days ago, add active carbon some days before, test the water, 0no2, 0no3, 0nh4.

My only idea is temperature. Are this fish sensible to high temperature? when i was out the day before the tragedy, acquarium temperature goes up to 33*C, and in the morning all fish was died.

The other fish (some petitella giordane -italian name, comunity fish with red head- and the ancistrus) are all ok, no dead in other spieces, just all apistogramma.

Is my relation correct? what is the maximum temp for A. ? I have read a lot before start this new tank, maybe high t. was not my concern on september... now i pay the conseguence of my fault, if this is the cause.