• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

peat extract

cardinal

5 Year Member
I find indian almond leaves better and cheaper

or you could try KENTS black water extract

but im still learning so maybe someone else could give you better info

thanks
cardinal

koty

5 Year Member
can someone tell me the right amount of peat extract to be added to a 25l\7g tank?
thank you!
As for many good question, there is no definitive answer.
The peat is made from very complex and diverse set of molecules so there is no real quantitative way to tell how much is in any type of water from any source.
What kind of extract do you have?
The general rule is that the water should have a brownish tint.
Koty

cardinal

5 Year Member
where do you get your almond leaf from?

Biddulph Aquatics

they have a shop on EBAY

thanks
cardinal

koty

5 Year Member
thank you cardinal.
and koty.. the water parameters of the peat extract are: ph-3.94 ec-1286 tds-643

how did you make the extract?
There are three basic methods:
1. filter R/O water through peat
2. Boil R/O water with peat
3. Boil R/O water with peat and add a little bit baking soda NaHCO3 ! (My little trick to make a long lasting concentrated extract to last long despite extensive water changes)
With the 3rd one you get a real concentrated extract but you lose the immediate effect of pH reduction. But with time if you use it with 100% R/O the pH stabilizes on 4.7-5.2 ! without the need of using acids!!!

koty

5 Year Member
thanks koty, can you explain a little bit more about the third one? and how does it stabilizes the pH?