• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

B

bluetech

Hi! Just registered and would like to send my greetings to everyone. Congratulations for a very nice and informative site.

I'm new to Dwarf Cichlids. As a matter of fact, don't have a single one of them. I've kept numerous kinds of fishes before and currently have a number of Large Cichlids right now.

I'm planning to shift to the Dwarfs coz they're easier to handle(I think). I have very little knowledge, if any, regarding dwarfs. All I can identify are the Rams and the Jewel. Also, there are very few types of dwarfs here in Manila.

Now, for my questions :)

How many adult dwarfs can I put in a decorated 50gal tank? They will all be males to avoid potential problems brought about by spawning.

Will 15gal tanks be alright for breeding a pair of dwarfs? What setup do you suggest? I have no prior knowledge in breeding them.

That's all for now. Thanks in advance. Regards.

Ed

Randall

5 Year Member
bluetech said:
How many adult dwarfs can I put in a decorated 50gal tank? They will all be males to avoid potential problems brought about by spawning.

Will 15gal tanks be alright for breeding a pair of dwarfs? What setup do you suggest? I have no prior knowledge in breeding them.

Dear Ed,

Welcome to the Forum, and welcome to dwarf cichlids!

One of the greatest joys of dwarf cichlid keeping is observing their spawning behavior and raising their fry to maturity. I think it would be a shame if you missed out this most fascinating and rewarding aspect of the hobby.