• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New here, Breeding Rams questions please.

K

KellyQ

Hello! I am so happy to have found this website! I have a bonded pair of German Blue Rams that spawned on Friday night. I am new to the fishkeeping world, so have lots of questions. LOL

I really want to try my hand at successfully raising some Ram fry. My pair have been doing wonderfully so far, she laid her eggs and they have both been fanning the eggs and guarding the eggs from the other fish in my tank. They are currently in my only tank a 29 gallon planted tank. I would like to set them up 20 gallon long tank for themselves so that there is a better chance of the eggs hatching. These are such beautiful and fun fish!

This morning I noticed most of the eggs are missing so assume that they either got eaten or they moved them. The female Ram is still guarding the few eggs that are left. I know the chances are slim of these eggs hatching, but want to start preparing for a tank of their own. My water parameters in this tank aren't 'right' for them I know. My PH is 7.2, KH is 2 DH, GH 9DH, ammonia and nitrite are both 0.

My question is to set up this 20 long I was thinking of using RO water. Does anyone have suggestions on ways to make this tank perfect for them? I am really a newbie when it comes to this stuff so any help would be wonderful! I don't know if I would have to 'do' anything to the RO water or just put it in straight or what. I have been reading the posts on this board and have gotten some great ideas so far.

Thank you so much!!
Kelly