• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My apisto cacatuoides

Cubeology

5 Year Member
2 days ago this young pair of apistogramma cacatuoides blue arrived in the mail. I have done everything I could think of to make them a nice habitat although I realize the tank is a little small (20x10x20). I would love to hear any advice on the tank layout or anything else for that matter, I am new to apistogrammas. In the center, although the opening is blocked a little by plants is one of the cichlid stones. I have pieces of java moss glued to both driftwood pieces and the stone which should fill out in time. I also have some salvinia cucullata that I am going to add as a surface plant.

They appear to be very juvenile fish without a whole lot of color. How old do you think they are? I'm hoping they will eventually spawn successfully.
Apistos 1.jpg
Apistos 2.jpg

Tank 1.jpg
Tank 2.jpg
Tank 3.jpg

Tom C

5 Year Member
Why the gravel?
I strongly believe that most Apistogramma species won't thrive in the long term without fine sand on the bottom.

Frank Schäfer wrote not long ago:
"Especially the sand is important and the meaning of it often underestimated.
In fact the sand is more important than the water chemistry (hardness, pH).
In the wild, these fish feed mainly on particles they find in the sand.
To find them the fish takes a mouth full of sand, chews the sand and releases the sand through the gill openings.
Food particles attach on special anatomical structures on the gill arches and can be swallowed subsequently.