• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Cacatuoides eggs, but no cigars this time

KelVarnson

5 Year Member
This is going to be a little long but I am new to apistogramma and have several questions.

Background: Last weekend I bought a pair of cacatuoides "Triple Red," my first cichlids of any kind, and introduced them as the sole occupants (except for the usual snail menagerie) of my planted 29G tank. They are not shy and come up to feed on frozen food and freeze dried blood worms. Yesterday I noticed that the female had taken up residence in a driftwood cave and today she spent all her time coming out of the cave to flash and shimmy at the male, at times nip at him, and then head back to the cave. The male seemed mildly interested and would follow to within a few inches of the cave but once she was out of site he would turn around. Once while she was away I shined a flashlight into the cave but did not see any eggs. This evening I did my usual 50% water change and about an hour later I noticed about 15-20 white eggs on the wall of the cave. I saw the female take one into her mouth and put it back on the cave. While I was excited to see some eggs, and even though I have never bred any fish before, I don't think white eggs are what you want.