• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apisto ID

Microman

5 Year Member
Hi Yan,
I am by no means an expert at Apisto ID, more of a novice,but these fish certainly look like young adult Apisto SP Masken/Painted Face.
I have a pair that have just spawned and are guarding eggs as we speak,your
fishes brooding colouration is identical to mine.
I have found these fish undemanding and certainly easy to spawn if conditions
are to their liking.
Good luck,
Mark.

B

benedictj

Those look like Opals to my eye, but I'm new to this as well.

Yan, How many of those did you get, they're gorgeous?

BTW, is israquarium your domain? I wound up there the other night looking for some info on some plant maintainence (pruning anubias). It's a nice site, though it took me a while to translate.

ARWoodi

5 Year Member
I do not think it's a.borelli opal, looks more like a.steel blue.
Description of it can be found in Romer's book Cichlid Atlas 1 on page 928.

I used to keep this species, but apparently the LFS here in Singapore only sells the male. A very agressive species indeed.

cootwarm

5 Year Member
I agree with ARWoodi. They are sp. "Steel Blue" and females are extremely rare, almost non-existant. They are thought to be a hybrid cross between borellii and another apisto, cruizi if I remeber correctly. They've been discussed quite a bit on this forum, especially last year. If you do a search on "Steel Blue" here on this forum you will find more info about them, although even that info is limited. Not much is known about them, even by the experts. But their concensus is that "Steel Blue" is a hybrid from asia, probably in the singapore region.