• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Advice needed: Mikrogeophagus Ramirezi Sex & Behavior

Lauris

Hello people!

I'm new to this one. To the forum and Fish keeping. Especially with species named above.
I must admit - a pair of Rams I've got recently', is most interesting fish to observe so far.
Love the personalities. But as far as I am now, I also would like to understand their behavior and
I really need some hand to determine sex on one of them.

So long story short:
Recently introduced to my planted setup a pair of German Blue Rams (in my LFS sold as
Brood Stock Rams - if it makes any difference and for whatever it stands for). They were sold to
me as a pair of male and female. Now I'm not sure if the female is female, and if it is to be so, I
really need some advice to understand my pair behavior.

So.. short story long:

Keeping planted setups only 2,5 years. Fish was only for me as just an addition, as I really went into
planted thing with some succeeds and many fails and keep developing so on.

Recently decided to try out GBR. My tank is only 90L (60x40x40cm), so I thought it will be enough for
bunch of schooling fish (ember tetra), small bunch of pygmy corries and few inverts. Decided also for
a pair of RAM, to make it more attractive community tank.

16235066524_203e697015_z.jpg

I wish it would be as easy as I thought.

Now.. back to my confusion.

This is the pair of my new addition. Photos taken on the first day when I introduced this pair to my setup
(about week ago)

16752560690_8a72dd7589_c.jpg

16752560400_8a56dd4e0a_c.jpg