• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Sanity check on potential stocking...

anewbie

I'm planning a 400+ gallon tank that is approx 13 months out. The dimension of the planned tank is 8ftx4ftx21ft (l,w,h). The target temp is 81 during winter and 83 during summer. My thought on stocking is 12-14 rams; 6 threadfin acara, 8 geo winemilleri, 40 cardinals (maybe some rummynose) and 12 sterbai - perhaps a few random plecos. I have no personal experience with threadfin acara and winemilleri other than readings. My understanding is both are fairly peaceful species though the threadfin might get a bit large.
-
If the threadfin are not a good idea would Laetacara curviceps be a reasonable alternative ?

MacZ

8ftx4ftx21ft (l,w,h).
8x4x2 or x1?

I see a bit of a problem with the plecos (nocturnal catfish vs. diurnal cichlids) and I can imagine with the Geophagus sifting and shifting the sand it might be harder for the dwarf cichlids to establish territories.
I have seen all of these fish, even in similar numbers, in big tanks, but either Geophagus + catfish + bigger tetra species or dwarf cichlids + tetras but never in that combination. Bit on the sceptical side here.

anewbie

8x4x2 or x1?

I see a bit of a problem with the plecos (nocturnal catfish vs. diurnal cichlids) and I can imagine with the Geophagus sifting and shifting the sand it might be harder for the dwarf cichlids to establish territories.
I have seen all of these fish, even in similar numbers, in big tanks, but either Geophagus + catfish + bigger tetra species or dwarf cichlids + tetras but never in that combination. Bit on the sceptical side here.