• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma Baenschi questions

Daneland

Hi everybody,
I shot a quick video. Is this courting behaviour is safe for female? Most of the times she is being chased. The female was much darker and now I thinking her shade is getting lighter. I know they turn to a small lemon when they are ready to spawn but I am not so sure it happens gradually. Is there anything I can do encourage them to spawn? What do you think about the general tank set up?
I have to tell; I am almost a newbie for Apisto and a complete noob for videography.
Cheers

Last edited:

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
.........I shot a quick video. Is this courting behaviour is safe for female?
No, the male isn't happy with the female, and wants to drive her off, so that another "better" female may appear. Some-one with more experience may be able to tell you whether this situation is likely to change.

I've not kept Apistogramma baenschi, but I think with pair forming Apistogramma (nijsseni group) species that a male and female isn't necessarily a pair.
What do you think about the general tank set up?
I think it is good. I'd add some more structural leaf litter at floor level, but other than that perfect.

I can't tell from the video whether you have any moss? I'm a <"great moss fan">. My only criticism would be your dithers are a bit fat.

cheers Darrel

Daneland

Hi all,No, the male isn't happy with the female, and wants to drive her off, so that another "better" female may appear. Some-one with more experience may be able to tell you whether this situation is likely to change.