• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New member from Vancouver BC

crazy72

Hi everyone,

I've been keeping fish for many years, with a few apistos here and there. Now my 12-year-old son Adam has developed an all-consuming passion for apistos, so here I am joining this forum! We have 4 tanks, ranging from 33G to 75G. My favourite fish at the moment are GBRs.... and apistos, of course.

We are looking for apisto borellii and apisto pertensis. Ideally tank raised. If you know anyone who has them and is able to ship to Vancouver, please let me know.

Happy fish keeping. Looking forward to exploring the forums here.

Bart Hazes

Hi Crazy72, good to know there is a new generation of apisto lovers coming up. I consider Curtis Jerrom in Calgary as the best Canadian source for Apistos with Below Water (Oliver Lucanus) in Montreal being another source with sometimes very special species. Both sell mostly or exclusively wild caught fish but I am tank raising F1 fry for 8 species at the moment and those will be for sale by Curtis once old enough. For borelli you may be able to get a local store to special order tank bred fish for you. I don't think pertensis is being commercially bred.

crazy72

Thank you Bart for this info. I will follow up with my LFS. Raising 8 species of apistos sounds like serious business! My son will wish you were his Dad! :)

What species are you raising then?

Bart Hazes

Thank you Bart for this info. I will follow up with my LFS. Raising 8 species of apistos sounds like serious business! My son will wish you were his Dad! :)

What species are you raising then?

A. rubrolineata
A. norberti
A. baenschi