• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hi! New to Apistos!

Emma

Hey everyone, I have owned fish for years, and recently set up my second planted tank that will be for apistogrammas! I am looking for any advice on these guys as I am brand new to apistos. I just acquired 3 apistogramma cacatuoides super red, and I was told 2 are female and 1 was too young to sex. They are currently in a very temporary setup with some plecos to ensure that my other tank is satisfactory. I had to jump on the deal I got for these guys, and was not completely ready to put them into the new tank. However, they are doing well even being in their temporary housing! They should be able to move over in the next few days. I am so excited to have them, they are beautiful!

Ade205

Hi Emma, welcome.

A quick warning... Have some spare tanks!!
I've been a Discus fanatic for many years, but decided to have a go at breeding Apistos a few months back! I'm on my third spawn now and rapidly running out of tank space!!!! Apistogramma fry & juveniles everywhere lol

I'm sure your gonna love your new Apisto adventure. Their behaviour is fascinating, especially when have fry, truly a great fish and i can now see why so many are obsessed with them!

Hope your 3rd fish is male, and if so, i suspect it won't be long before your posting pics of a proud mummy Apisto herding fry around her tank!

Ade.

Emma

Hi Emma, welcome.

A quick warning... Have some spare tanks!!