• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Questions about Apistogramma borelli

MarlonnekeW

I hope you can help me with some Borelli questions.

I have a 125 liter/ 33 gallon aquarium with a Ancistrus female (L144/Ancistrus sp4) and some Pseudepiplatys annulatus. I would really like to add a couple/trio Apistogramma to this aquarium, together with a schooling fish as dither fish, but before I do I want to make sure that this is a good idea.

Because I'm new to Apistogramma, I think the Borelli is a good fish to start with. I love the Apistogramma agassizii, but I've read that they are a bit more aggressive and therefor less suitable for beginners.

I read a lot of different opinions about keeping Apistogramma with bristlenose pleco's. Will this combination work in a 80cm/31 inch Aquarium? My female Ancistrus is very friendly to the other fish and so far absolutely not territorial.

I also read very different stories about Apistogramma borelli and temperature. If I understand it correctly, the Borelli should not be kept on the same temperature the whole year round, but it needs a cooler period. Is 22°C/72°F cool enough or do they need even lower temperatures?
And what about dither fish. Pencil fish are recommended a lot as dithers, but the temperature range for these fish implies that for example 22°C is too low for these fish.